GET YOUR “SAVE OGONTZ FIRE COMPANY” LAWN SIGNS

DISCLAIMER: The opinions and observations expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent the positions of the Republican Party or Cheltenham GOP.



On 16 December 2020, the Cheltenham Township Commissioner Board voted to decertify the Ogontz Fire Company. By doing so, we are left with four Fire Companies to serve the entire township. Six of the seven Commissioners voted for decertification and only Ward 4 Commissioner Ann Rappaport abstained from voting- which appeared to be symbolic.

Remarkably, the Commissioner Board has indicated that our township will be safer by closing one of our Fire Companies. Strange logic.
This is a direct quote from the statement on our Township’s website:

The Commissioners would like to assure all residents that this action will improve the Cheltenham Township Fire Company’s ability to protect life and property in Cheltenham Township.

It’s not so much that the Commissioners did it as much as it was how they went about doing so. This action took less than one month to reach a conclusion, from 19 November to 16 December when the decertification vote was finalized. But more importantly, it was done in almost total secrecy with little or no opportunity for our residents to have their voices heard.

There is still time to express ourselves if we want to be involved in our governance process. Order your “Save Ogontz Fire Company” Lawn Sign and write a letter or email to your Commissioner.



EMAIL YOUR COMMISSIONERS

Commissioner Daniel Norris, President
dnorris@cheltenham-township.org
215-635-0383

Commissioner Baron Holland, Vice President
bholland@cheltenham-township.org
215-884-0485

Commissioner Matthew Areman
mareman@cheltenham-township.org ,267-901-5080

Commissioner Brad Pransky
bpransky@cheltenham-township.org
215-376-5600

Commissioner Ann Rappoport
arappoport@cheltenham-township.org
215-935-6575

Commissioner Mitchell Zygmund-Felt
mzygmundfelt@cheltenham-township.org
267-252-8593

Commissioner Irv Brockington
ibrockington@cheltenham-township.org
267-626-2264

You can email all the Commissioners using CommissionersTempGroup@cheltenham-township.org

Speak Your Mind

*

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this:
Please subscribe to our site

Enter your email address to subscribe,

Subscribe!